Learning to Wait

© PhotoSpin.com

Being still isn’t easy. The world bombards us with over-stimulating messages, caffeinated energy drinks and opportunities for speed and convenience. We are losing our ability to wait for anything.

Becoming helpless—that doesn’t sound appealing, does it? How about letting go? We don’t like to do that either. Perhaps that is why so many people resist God. That is exactly what he wants us to do. In this upside down world, surrender sounds like defeat, but if we chose to follow Christ, we discover strength in our weakness–God’s strength.

Be still and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10

Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him. Psalm 37:7

Focusing on God takes discipline, but if we learn to make that daily effort, we will be heard and we will find the answer we seek. Listen to the patience we can learn from the Psalms:

LORD, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God. Psalm 38:15

I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. Psalm 40:1

I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. Psalm 130:5

When God delivered the Israelites from Egypt, “they believed his promises and sang his praise. But they soon forgot what he had done and did not wait for his plan to unfold.” (Psalm 106:12-13) Does that sound familiar? Sometimes it is so difficult to wait for God’s timing.

Waiting forces us to draw closer to God, to listen for his guidance. I can be so impatient. I want to solve everything as soon as possible and push forward. In doing this on my own, I am not only getting ahead of myself, I am trying to get ahead of God. Now there is a scary thought. The right answer will come if I learn to wait on the Lord.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

The peace of God transcends all understanding. We can’t find that kind of peace on our own. We can only seek it through him. Sit quietly with him. Rest in his presence. Connect with him through prayer. Trust–and wait for guidance.

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

How have you learned to wait on God?

© PhotoSpin.com

3 responses to “Learning to Wait

Leave a Reply

